<rdf:RDF xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#" xmlns:dcterms="http://purl.org/dc/terms/">
<rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/434">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[1880 Graduation Exercises Farmington High School Booklet]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[A bi-fold booklet of the 1880 Graduation Exercises of the Farmington High School. The event was set for eight o&#039; clock, Thursday July 1, 1880 at the Congregational Church in Farmington, NH. Music was planned, as well as eleven speakers, including the Salutatorian and the Valedictorian.<br />
<br />
FHS-Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Farmington High School]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Farmington High School]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1880]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:contributor><![CDATA[Donated by Lorraine Meyer 2018]]></dcterms:contributor>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/693">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[1883 Reports Selectmen Treasurer Town Of Farmington NH]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[1883 Reports of the selectmen and treasurer of the town of Farmington<br />
<br />
This is a digital file and does not exist in the physical museum collection.<br />
<br />
FHS- Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Farmington NH]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Farmington NH]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1883]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[1883]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:contributor><![CDATA[Digital File from UNH Scholars Repository]]></dcterms:contributor>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/414">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[1886 Farmington Gas Company Comes To Town-Historical Farmington By Twink Osgood]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[An article in the August, 1986 Puddledock Press, about the Farmington Gas Company coming too Farmington in 1886. The piece is a "Historical Farmington" article written by Twink Osgood relaying and reflecting on this historical news. The story reads as follows:<br /><br /><p><em>Historical Farmington.....by Twink Osgood</em></p>
<p><em>FARMINGTON GAS COMPANY</em></p>
<p><em>April 1886. The Farmington Gas Co. has been recently formed here for</em><em>the introduction of gas into our dwellings, factories, stores and upon </em><em>our streets. A portion of the pipe has been ordered, work will begin</em><em>as soon as the frost is out of the ground.</em></p>
<p><em>August 1886. After a long delay, from various causes, operations fi-</em><em>nally began upon the gas works. A large force is at work and matters</em><em>are being pushed. The plant is located at the lower end of Hancock St.,</em><em>where the Company purchases a three acre strip. The work consists of </em><em>an office, 18'X 28', and adjoining is the retort house, 20' X 22'. Both </em><em>buildings are of brick, a story and a half high. In the rear will be a </em><em>gas holder, of circular from, 3^ feet in diameter.</em></p>
<p><em>September 1886. Dr. R. B. Foss &amp; Co.'s Store was the first to be lit</em><em>with the new gas, and attracted a great deal of attention. During the</em><em>same evening, Emerson &amp; Garland's Drug Store and Carleton &amp; Bennett's</em><em>Clothing Store were illuminated with gas and gave excellent satisfac-</em><br /><em> tion.</em></p>
<p><em>April 1887. Mr. Averill is now in charge of our Gas Works. He built</em><em>the Gas Works in Concord more than thirty years ago and also at Gard-</em><em>iner, Maine. For many years, he has been in charge of the works in Do-</em><em>ver, N.H.    We are indeed fortunate in having the service of such a man.</em></p>
<p><em>Within the next year our street lights, to the number of sixteen, will</em><em>be changed from kerosene to gas lights, and other lights will be added </em><em>as the gas mains are extended.</em></p>
<p><em>Wood is the fuel for operating the gas works and some of</em><br /><em> supplied the necessary means to keep the Works working.</em></p>
<p><em>In the fall of 1893, gas was put in the Drew Hosiery Mill (on theof the former Mooney's Mill) and more lights are being put in to</em><em>place the old lamps.</em><em>November 12, 1987. The</em><br /><em> las Light Co. is   con- *</em><em>sidering running a</em><em>pipe from near the de-</em><em>pot to their gas house </em><em>to conduct oil through instead of trucking it.</em></p>
<p><em>February 10, 1899, The </em><em>new lamp in front of </em><em>Pythian Hall was piped </em><em>for gas this week. <br /></em></p>
<p><em>In the fall of 1903, a </em><em>change in the manu-facture of gas took </em><em>place. The Gas Co. </em><em>purchased gas generators </em><em>for making acetylene gas. These generators </em><em>were set up and after (continued next page)<br /><br /></em></p>
<p><em>Farmington Gas Co., continued</em></p>
<p><em>some arrangements were made at the plant, the making of new gas was be-</em><em>gun. Anyone using the new gas had to buy a new burner as the old ones </em><em>could not be used.</em></p>
<p><em>January 22, 190^. The Cloutman Electric Plant furnished its first e-</em><em>lectricity this week for use in the Cloutman factory and for lighting .</em><em>As late as April 190^, a new gas light was placed on the drinking foun-</em><em>tain on the Square.</em></p>
<p><em>Because of its convenience, efficiency and costs of electricity, the </em><em>use of gas came to be used less and less. In the spring of 1908, the</em><em>Farmington Gas Light Company wnet into recievership.</em></p>
<p><em>At Osgood Pharmacy today there is evidence of the use of gas for light-ing. If you look at the metal ceiling you can see a metal plate in thecenter of which is a rubber stopper that was used to plug the gas line. The stopper is covered with many coats of paints<br /><br /><br /></em>These photos are stored together. They are from different periods of time. Last pulled together for possible use in August 1986. <br /><br />FHS-Kyle Leach</p>]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Puddledock Press]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Puddledock Press]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1886]]></dcterms:date>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/426">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[1889 History Congregational Church Mid-Late 1800s Farmington News Page4]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[An historical account of the Congregational Church mid to late 1800s from the Farmington News, Page4, August 12th, 1898.<br />
<br />
This is a digital file and does not exist in the physical museum collection.<br />
<br />
FHS-Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Farmington News]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Farmington News]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1898]]></dcterms:date>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/176">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[1890 Edition The Leading Business Men Of Dover, Rochester, Farmington, Great Falls, And Berwick (Illustrated)<br />
]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Great Falls And Its Leading Business Men]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[1890 Illustrated Edition of The Leading Business Men Of Dover, Rochester, Farmington, Great Falls, and Berwick.<br />
<br />
This is a digital file and does not exist in the physical collection.<br />
<br />
RKL-FHS<br />
<br />
<br />
<br />
]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Boston Mercantile Publishing Company,<br />
No. 258 Purchase Street<br />
<br />
]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1890]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[1890]]></dcterms:created>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/694">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[1891 Report Receipts &amp; Expenditures  Town Of Farmington NH]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[1891 Report of the receipts and expenditures of the town of Farmington<br />
<br />
This is a digital file and book in the physical museum collection.<br />
<br />
FHS- Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Town of Farmington NH]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Town of Farmington NH]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1891]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[1891]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:contributor><![CDATA[Digital File from UNH Scholars Repository]]></dcterms:contributor>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/419">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[1892 Account 1875 Fire Farmington News, Page3, 1892]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[An 1892 account of the great 1875 fire on Central Street in Farmington, as presented in the Farmington News, Page3, February 12, 1892. The fire was swift and burned down many notable building including the Elm House hotel, the Thurston factory, Nat Roberts house, the J. F. Clesley house, and the First Congregational Church. Many, many other homes and businesses sustained damage.<br />
<br />
This is a digital file and does not exist in the physical museum collection.<br />
<br />
FHS-Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Farmington News]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Farmington News]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1892]]></dcterms:date>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/253">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[1892 Farmington NH PO Map D H Hurd and Co Boston]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[This 1892 Farmington, New Hampshire PO Map details the downtown and surrounding area of Farmington. Lithographed map. shows buildings shaded as public/business blocks or residences, railroads, landowners, etc. Published in town and city atlas of the State of New Hampshire. Compiled from government surveys, county records, and personal investigations by D.H. Hurd &amp; Co., Boston.<br />
<br />
This item is a digital file and it does not exist in the physical museum collection.<br />
<br />
FHS-RKL ]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[D H Hurd and Co Boston]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[D H Hurd and Co Boston]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1892]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:dateCopyrighted><![CDATA[Digital images and descriptive data © 2000 by Cartography Associates. Images may be reproduced or transmitted, but not for commercial use. For commercial use or commercial republication, contact carto@luna-img.com. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.]]></dcterms:dateCopyrighted>
    <dcterms:contributor><![CDATA[David Rumsey Historical Map Collection <br />
<br />
Digital images and descriptive data © 2000 by Cartography Associates. Images may be reproduced or transmitted, but not for commercial use. For commercial use or commercial republication, contact carto@luna-img.com. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.]]></dcterms:contributor>
    <dcterms:license><![CDATA[Digital images and descriptive data © 2000 by Cartography Associates. Images may be reproduced or transmitted, but not for commercial use. For commercial use or commercial republication, contact carto@luna-img.com. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.]]></dcterms:license>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Digital images and descriptive data © 2000 by Cartography Associates. Images may be reproduced or transmitted, but not for commercial use. For commercial use or commercial republication, contact carto@luna-img.com. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons License.]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/332">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[1894 Farmington High School Commencement Exercise Bi-Fold Program]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[A 1894 Farmington High School commencement exercise program. The program is quite ornate, printed in multiple fonts, on heavy card paper, with embossed embellishments, and with burn cut scalloped edges. The commencement exercises happened on June 21st at eight o&#039;clock at the Farmington Opera House. The class motto, ode, and graduates are listed. One calling card belonging to Helen Barker is fastened to the program.<br />
<br />
Size: 5&quot; x 5.5&quot;<br />
<br />
FHS-RKL]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Farmington High School ]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Farmington High School ]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1894]]></dcterms:date>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/188">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[1894 Farmington Public Library Card Front &amp; Back]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Farmington Public Library Card #640 issued on Aug 18, 1894 to Frances Glidden<br />
<br />
RKl-FHS]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Farmington Public Library]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1894]]></dcterms:date>
</rdf:Description></rdf:RDF>
