<rdf:RDF xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#" xmlns:dcterms="http://purl.org/dc/terms/">
<rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/512">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Souvenir Color &amp; Black &amp; White Postcard South Main Street Farmington NH]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Two souvenir postcards showing the same view of South Main Street, on the bend, facing south. One colorized &amp; one black &amp; white postcard labeled as&quot; South Main Street, Farmington NH. &quot; The photo seems to be taken, on the street, between the Eastman and Edgerly houses.  A fence,  electric poles, a lamp, and hydrants can be see in the foreground to mid ground. Trees in various stages of growth are also present. Most notably the side of the  J.F. Cloutman Shoe Factory building can be seen in the middle ground, to the left. All four stories can be seen and the sloped roof and a large chimney can be seen. A fire in 1918 will all but destroy this building and it will be replaced in 1919.<br />
<br />
Size 3.5&quot; x 5.5&quot;<br />
<br />
FHS-Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Colorized card: W.L. Peavey, Farmington, NH<br />
<br />
B&amp;W card: New Englamd Stationary Company Boston, Mass]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Colorized card: W.L. Peavey, Farmington, NH<br />
<br />
B&amp;W card: New Englamd Stationary Company Boston, Mass]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[Early 1900&#039;s]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[Early 1900&#039;s]]></dcterms:created>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/506">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Souvenir Postcard Barker Block Farmington NH]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Souvenir Postcard Barker Block Farmington NH<br />
<br />
A Barker Block blue-green-yellow-brown souvenir postcard depicting the Barker Block at Main and Central Streets. On the corner lot is a large, yellow, three story building with a square cupola atop, and a single chimney is visible. At the time of the photo it was the Boston Clothing Company. A two story, store front duplex is in the space to the left of the department store, where the Goodwin Library stands now.. The First Congregational Church stands in the background, left. The beloved metal fountain is in the original location dividing Central Street from Main in the middle,  foreground.<br />
<br />
The 1910 fire destroyed the Barker Block as well as the adjoining E. T. Wilson Block. The W.F. Thayer block was also severely damaged in that fire.<br />
<br />
<br />
Size 3.5&quot; x 5.5&quot;<br />
<br />
Condition: Some staining is visible on the church.<br />
<br />
FHS-Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[W.J Evans Farmington,NH]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[W.J Evans Farmington,NH]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[Circa 1900&#039;s -Pre -1910]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[Circa 1900&#039;s -Pre -1910]]></dcterms:created>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/503">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Souvenir Postcard Congregational Church Farmington NH]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[A blue-green-brown colorized souvenir postcard of the First Congregational Church of Farmington NH. The postcard photo focuses on a left side view of the church, at the turn of Main Street, coming into downtown, and surrounding locations of the church along main Street. Local businesses and  other buildings are visible from the view, as are many, large trees, shrubs, and  electrical poles. An adjoining property, to the left, has a white fence.<br />
<br />
Size 3.5&quot; x 5.5&quot;<br />
<br />
FHS-Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Metropolitan News Company , Boston]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Metropolitan News Company , Boston]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[Early 20th Century<br />
Postmark on back is 1906.]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[Early 20th Century<br />
Postmark on back is 1906.]]></dcterms:created>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/502">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Souvenir Postcard Richards Block Farmington NH]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Sepia souvenir postcard depicting the Richards Block of Farmington NH. Richards Block is three stories tall with a square, windowed cupola atop. Taken from Main Street looking into the block, diagonally, where Main Street meets Central Street. Many local businesses may be seen and many vehicles are parked along the street. Many local signs can be seen in the foreground as well and the First Congregational Church in the background.<br />
<br />
Size 3.5&quot; x 5.5&quot;<br />
<br />
FHS-Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Unknown]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Unknown]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[Early 20th Century]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[Early 20th Century]]></dcterms:created>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/500">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Thayer Bungalow &amp; Soldiers Monument From Edgerly Park Farmington NH]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Colorized blue-green-brown postcard of the Thayer Bungalow and the  Soldiers Monument in Edgerly Park. The location is  on the northern part of Main Street at the juncture of Main Street, Bay Road, and Charles Street. The monument, the bungalow, trees, shrubs, neighboring property, and clouds can be clearly seen in the middle ground and background of the photo.<br />
<br />
Size 3.5&quot; x 5.5&quot;<br />
<br />
FHS-Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Unknown]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Unknown]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[Early 20th Century]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[Early 20th Century]]></dcterms:created>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/499">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Main Street Looking South Farmington NH ]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[A colorized Main Street postcard looking south toward downtown Farmington from &quot; The Hill&quot; on north Main Street. Homes line the road on each side. Trees line most of the road on both sides and are leafed out implying spring or summer. Several fences can be seen as can several electric poles.<br />
<br />
<br />
Size 3.5&quot; x 5.5&quot;<br />
<br />
Condition: Color is almost completely faded from the card.<br />
<br />
FHS-Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Frank W. Swallow Postcard Company ]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Frank W. Swallow Postcard Company ]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[Early 20th Century]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[Early 20th Century]]></dcterms:created>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/496">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Farmington Opera House Color Souvenir Postcard ]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[A Farmington NH Opera House colorized souvenir postcard. The view is of the front and left and side of the building looking down Main Street at an angle. The three story building with an internal mezzanine or balcony was brick with wooden trim. It featured many double high windows on the front and both sides. It had a simple single story portico with a small roof balustrade. Four chimneys can be seen in the photo. The photo is set sometime in early spring or fall. Mature trees are seen lining Main Street and surrounding buildings can be seen in the background and fences of home across the street in the foreground. Two, small  horse drawn carriages can be seen parked in front.<br />
<br />
A February 10, 1928 fire effectively burned the Farmington Opera House to the ground. The library and town offices, along with most books, artifacts, and town records, from earlier periods perished in the fire. <br />
<br />
This card also has a similar miniature version, which is different from the original focused more on the Opera House set in spring or summer.<br />
<br />
Size 3.5&quot; x 5.5&quot;<br />
<br />
Miniature Size: 2&quot;x3.5&quot;<br />
<br />
FHS-Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[W.L Peavey]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[W.L Peavey]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[Circa 1906]]></dcterms:date>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[Circa 1906]]></dcterms:created>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/438">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[1986 Hay Day Highlight September Puddledock Press]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[A 1986 Hay Day highlight article from the September Puddledock Press.<br /><br />The article reads:<br /><p><strong><em>BEST HAY DAY EVER</em></strong></p>
<p><em>The fifth annual Hay Day celebration drew a record crowd of four to five thousand. The festivities were plentiful along with the food. Betty Mros announced another record breaker of fifty-five booths and concession stands. Everyone seemed to have an enjoyable day, and I'm sure next year's Hay Day is already highly anticipated. Below are the results:</em></p>
<em><u>Li'l Miss Hay Day</u></em>
<p><em>1st. Theresa Vaillancourt (Old Mother Hubbard)</em><br /><em> 2nd. Diane Cheong (Panda Bear)</em><br /><em> 3rd. Dierdre Howard (Indian 3irl)</em><br /><em><u>Young Huck</u></em></p>
<p><em>1st. Mykle Lepene (Huckleberry Finn)</em></p>
<p><em>2nd. Shaun Vachon (Three Blind Mice)</em></p>
<p><em>3rd. Mark Canney (Alvin chipmunk)</em></p>
<p><em><u>Horseshoes - Men</u></em></p>
<p><em>Winner. Dave James, Rochester</em></p>
<p><em>Runner-up. Herb Cox, Milton</em></p>
<p><em><u>Women</u></em></p>
<p><em>Winner. Nancy Raab, Barrington</em><br /><em> Runner-up. Jennie Ford</em><br /><em><u>Under l6's</u></em></p>
<p><em>Winner. John Thomson</em><br /><em> Runner-up. Shane Tufts</em><br /><em><u>Quiz</u></em></p>
<p><em>$10 Ted Healey</em><br /><em> $5  John Thomson</em><br /><em> $3  Olden Family</em><br /><em><u>Police Raffle</u></em></p>
<p><em>2 cords of wood. Mr. Robert Gray</em><br /><em><u>Puddledock Press Draw</u></em><br /><em> 1st. $56 Seymour Bowden</em></p>
<p><em>2nd. Certificate-Dick Poulin   Tod Lemieux</em></p>
<p><em>3rd. Certificate-Pizza Hut       Nell Leary</em></p>
<p><em><u>Parks &amp; Rec. Draw</u></em></p>
<p><em>$100. John Oakley</em></p>
<p><em><u>Video &amp; More Certificate</u></em></p>
<p><em>Tara Minichiello, Hampstead</em></p>
<p><em><u>Ernie's Gas Certificate</u></em></p>
<p><em>Patricia Dexter, Middleton</em><br /><br /></p>
<p><em><u>Ugly Person Contest</u></em><br /><em> Wild Bill Vachon</em><br /><em> (wins a dinner for</em><br /><em> two at Cardinal's)</em><br /><em> <u>Long John Silver Agon</u></em><br /><em> Winner. Barry Finn</em><br /><em> Best Dressed. Tim</em><br /><em> Woodward, Kurt Olson.</em><br /><em> Anonymous Lady No. 1,</em><br /><em> Hilton</em><br /><em> <u>Sheaf Toss</u></em><br /><em> Sheaf Chief. Dan</em><br /><em> Conway, 19ft. '♦in.</em><br /><em> <u>Bed Race</u></em><br /><em> 1st. Alton F.D.</em><br /><em> 2nd. Middleton F.D.</em><br /><em> 3rd. Peg's Keg</em><br /><em> <u>Parade</u></em></p>
<p><em>Best Float. Union Tel.</em><br /><em> Special Prize. Davidson</em><br /><em> Rubber "Moonshiners"</em><br /><em> Bicycle Prize. Stacy</em><br /><em> Howard</em><br /><em> <u>Spirit Award</u></em><br /><em> Union Telephone</em><br /><em> <u>Dog Gymkhana</u></em><br /><em> Winner. Tiffany, owned</em><br /><em> by Denise Simard</em><br /><em> Runner-up. Fonzie, owned</em><br /><em> by Angela Ficco</em><br /><em> Dog/Owner Look-a-Like.</em><br /><em> Dan Wall and Thunder</em><br /><em> Ugliest Dog. Whiskers,</em><br /><em> owned by Dean Beland</em><br /><em> Fiercest Dog. Krissy,</em><br /><em> owned by James Spear<br /><br /></em>These photos are stored together. They are from different periods of time. Last pulled together for possible use in August 1986. <br /><br />FHS-Kyle Leach</p>]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Puddledock Press]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Puddledock Press]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1986]]></dcterms:date>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/437">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[September 1986 Puddledock Press Spotlight Varney&#039;s Market ]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[A September 1986 Puddledock Press Spotlight of  Varney's Market.<br /><br />The article reads:<br /><br /><em>Varney's Market</em><br /><p><em>There is a country store in town that his been here since approximately 1900. Eighty-six years ago; Ma,. Pa, Junior and Sally could have walked into this store and been greeted by friendly and soft-hearted "Mr. Owner" He would have supplied Ma with her cooking staples and Pa with his tobacco or cigar, and I Just bet Junior and Sally would have left with a smile , compliments of "Mr Owner" who had Just given</em><br /><em> them each a candy stick.</em></p>
<p><em>The scene has not changed much today at Varney's Market aside from the products family members might purchase. For example, Pa probably steps in for a pack of cigarettes and a rack of beer. Ma picks up her instant potatoes &amp; microwave veggies. Junior and Sally, their rock magazines &amp; diet soda and chances are they might still leave with a smile, compli-ments of Mr Dick Nichols, Proprietor, who had Just given them each a fruit roll-up.</em></p>
<p><em>Mr. Nichols, a native of Mass, brought his wife &amp; family to Farmington nine years ago. Looking for an Independent and quieter way of life , they bought the store and started their business  and new way of life.</em></p>
<p><em>Well-known to children and dogs for his soft heart and tasty treats, he is the perfect reflection of the"Mr.Owner" character. He stocks a variety of items that meet the needs of everyday life, making it convenient for residents to shop in town rather than travel to a grocery store out of town, especially for those who have no transportation.</em></p>
<p><em>Mr. and Mrs. Nichols  are happy residents of Farmington, who enjoy the people and simple living of a small town, which In turn  makes doing business at Varney's Market an enjoyable experience.</em><br /><br />These photos are stored together. They are from different periods of time. Last pulled together for possible use in August 1986. <br /><br />FHS-Kyle Leach</p>]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Puddledock Press]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Puddledock Press]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:date><![CDATA[1986]]></dcterms:date>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://farmingtonnhhistory.omeka.net/items/show/420">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[1940 Remembrance  1875 Fire First Congregational Church Farmington News, Page4]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[A 1940 remembrance of the 1875 fire at the First Congregational Church, as recorded in a communication to the editor and public of the Farmington News. The communication is written by Ned Parker and is on page 4, of the November 22nd 1940 issue.<br />
<br />
This is a digital file and does not exist in the physical museum collection.<br />
<br />
FHS-Kyle Leach]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[Farmington News]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:publisher><![CDATA[Farmington News]]></dcterms:publisher>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[1940]]></dcterms:created>
</rdf:Description></rdf:RDF>
